Bureaucrats are users, usually administrators, with the technical ability to perform the following actions:
Add the administrator, bureaucrat, interface administrator, account creator, pending changes reviewer, or bot user group to an account. Remove the administrator, interface administrator, account creator, IP block exemption, pending changes reviewer, or bot user group from an account. They are bound by policy and consensus only to grant administrator or bureaucrat access when doing so reflects the wishes of the community, usually after a successful request. In the same fashion, they are expected to exercise judgement in granting or removing bot flags with the advice of the Bot Approvals Group. They are expected to be capable judges of consensus, and are expected to explain the reasoning for their actions on request and in a civil manner. Actions by bureaucrats are also bound by the policy on the use of administrative rights.
Bureaucrats have been authorized by the community to remove administrator permissions in certain situations outlined below. Bureaucrats do not have the technical ability to remove bureaucrat rights from users or to grant or remove certain levels of access such as oversight or checkuser rights. These actions are performed by stewards.
Users are granted bureaucrat status by community consensus. The process is similar to the process of granting administrator status, but the expectations for potential bureaucrats are higher and community consensus must be clearer.
Removal of permissions
Bureaucrats may remove the "administrator" user right from an account in some situations:
- If self-requested by the administrator
- By official request of the Arbitration Committee
- If the administrator is deemed inactive
- If the account belongs to an editor who has been verified as deceased (in which case, all user rights should be removed). See also BP:DWG.
Bureaucrats should include a permanent link to the request or relevant policy when removing permissions. If necessary, the affected user should be immediately notified and given a reason for the removal along with advice on seeking the reinstatement of the permissions.
Should the extended confirmed group have been removed from the account since becoming an administrator, it should be restored when removing administrator permissions.
The interface administrator policy requires removal of the interface administrator permission upon removal of the administrator permission.